Click the questions to see their answers.

Getting Started

Zero Messenger a live messaging application for Android and iOS that collects zero information on who you are and requires zero personal identification in order to set up.

1. Download app
2. Add a contact
3. Begin chatting

From your contacts page click the “+” icon and choose to either "Accept Invitation" or "Create Invite"

Creating an invite will provide you with a unique pin to provide to the user you would like to connect with.

When accepting an invitation, you can enter a contact’s PIN or scan their QR Code. If the code is valid, the contact will be added. You can then give your contact a nickname and begin chatting.

The nickname you give your contact will only ever be stored locally on your device.

People can add you if you provide them with a unique PIN or QR Code that you create.

No, each PIN/QR Code is unique and valid to add one contact.
It will expire after 24-hours if it is not used.

This colored hexagon shows you that your contact is live and in your specific chat. The hex will pop up and let you know when your contact is typing too.

No. Zero Messenger is not a cloud-based messaging service. No accounts are created and no data is stored on our servers. Therefore, there is no way to sync messages and contacts onto multiple devices.

Messaging

Zero Messenger requires both parties to be live in the app to send and receive messages. Zero servers act as a relay rather than a storage point. This way, none of your data has to be in a third parties hands for extended periods of time.

All messages have an automatic 24-hour burn. This means that they are set to expire and disappear off both the sender and receiver’s phones after 24-hours. The timer starts as soon as you send a message.

“Burn” is Zero Messenger’s alternative for “deleting”.

Unlike traditional deletion, when you burn a message in Zero Messenger, it is burned from both yours and your contacts’ devices.

When you burn a contact all your messages with this contact are burned from both devices. You will also be removed from this persons contact list.

Yes. You can burn your own messages in a chat by long pressing (holding down) on a message. You can also burn entire chats. Burning chats will remove all messages within a chat from both yours and your contacts’ device.

Managing Contacts

From your contacts page click the “+” icon and choose to either Enter PIN, Scan Code or Create Invite.
Creating an invite will provide you with a unique pin to provide to the user you would like to connect with.

When accepting an invititation, you can enter the PIN your contact has provided you with. If the code is valid, the contact will be automatically added and you can begin chatting.

The nickname you give your contact will only ever be stored locally on your device.

Yes. On the “Contacts” page in your Zero Messenger app click on the contact that you would like to burn. From there you can click “Burn Contact” at the bottom of the pop-up. Burning a contact will remove them from your device and it will remove you from their device. It will also remove any and all chats that you may have had together. This cannot be undone. To add them again you must either create or accept a new PIN/QR Code combo. Nothing from the last interaction will be recovered, it will be like adding a completely new contact.

Subscriptions are based on the Apple ID or Google Play ID that you are using. If your other devices do not share the same ID then the subscription will not apply to your other devices

Each device is set up as a separate user. Since no accounts are created on Zero Messenger, contacts and messages will not sync/back up onto another phone.

Privacy & Security

Your messages are only ever held on yours and your contacts’ devices. They remain there until they are burned (either through the automatic 24-hour burn time or through manual burn).

A “Burn Code” is a 6-digit numerical code used to completely reset your Zero Messenger from your Zero Messenger’s “Enter Passcode” screen. If you put this in instead of your normal login passcode, all messages and contacts will be burned. This cannot be undone.

Burning your Zero Messenger will not cancel your subscription if you have one. All your contacts and messages will be burned, but you will still be able to add an unlimited amount of contacts after burning Zero Messenger.

Without a Passcode, there is no “Enter Passcode” screen. You have nowhere to input your Burn Code when opening the app. The Burn Code is designed to be seamless with your Passcode. It allows you to Burn your Zero Messenger without having to access your Settings page.

You are still able to completely Burn your Zero Messenger without a code from the bottom of your Zero Messenger’s Settings page.

Screenshots are disabled for Zero Messenger on Android. On iOS, users can take screenshots (Platform limitations), but users in the chat will be notified that a screenshot has been taken.


Start Today